SNMC Heritage: 6 Books of Hadiths Kutub al-Sittah

SNMC Heritage: 6 Books of Hadiths Kutub al-Sittah

The Kutub al-Sittah, “The six books” are six books containing collections of hadith (sayings or acts of the prophet Muhammad) compiled by six Sunni Muslim scholars in the ninth century CE. They are sometimes referred to as Al-Sihah al-Sittah, “The Authentic Six”. They were first formally grouped and defined by Ibn al-Qaisarani in the 11th century, who added Sunan ibn Majah to the list. Since then, they have enjoyed near-universal acceptance as part of the  Sunni Islam.

The six major hadith collections as follow;

  1. Sahih Bukhari, by Imam Bukhari (d. 256 AH, 870 CE), 7,275 ahadith
  1. Sahih Muslim, by Muslim b. al-Hajjaj (d. 261 AH, 875 CE), i9,200 ahadith
  2. Sunan Abu Dawood, by Abu Dawood (d. 275 AH, 888 CE), 4,800 ahadith
  3. Jami al-Tirmidhi, by al-Tirmidhi (d. 279 AH, 892 CE), 3,956 ahadith
  4. Sunan al-Sughra,  by al-Nasa’i (d. 303 AH, 915 CE), i 5,270 ahadith

6.a Sunan ibn Majah,  by Ibn Majah (d. 273 AH, 887 CE), 4,000 ahadith

Or 6.b. Muwatta Malik,  by Imam Malik (d. 179 AH, 795 CE), 1,720 ahadith [6]